wrh_left_button menu_ealat birgen
New Board for International Centre for Reindeer Husbandry
Written by Philip Burgess   
Wednesday, 25 August 2010 19:58
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
icr_logo_anim2The International Centre for Reindeer Husbandry now has a new board. The previous board has served its full term (the previous board members included Vladimir Etylin (Chukotka), Mai Britt Utsi (Sami University College), Dr. Monica A. Sundset (Uni of Tromso), Juha Magga (Sami Reindeer Herders Association of Finland) and Berit Marie Johnsson (Sweden) have served ICR since its inception.

A new board has recently been approved and will serve until July 1st, 2014. The new board comprises of:

  • Roza Laptander, (Assn of World Reindeer Herders). Roza is Nenets, from the Yamal Nenets Autonomous Okrug, is fluent in multiple languages including Nenets, Russian and English and she also holds a Phd in Linguistics.
  • Vladmir M. Etylin is Chukchi and is a member of the Reindeer Herders' Union of Russia. He is a former member of the State Duma of Russia and is currently a participant in the work of the International Whaling Commission. Etylin speaks Chukchi, Russian and English
  • Berit Marie Jonsson is a reindeer herder on the Swedish side of Sápmi. She winters near Umeå, Sweden and spends summer in Ammarnes, migrating inland with the reindeer. She represents the Saami Council on the Board of ICR.
  • Jan Henry Keskitalo. Keskitalo is a long time Sami researcher and expert on indigenous issues, particulary with regard to education. Keskital is currently Vice President of Indigenous Affairs for UArctic and Executive Chair of WINHEC (World Indigenous Nations Higher Education Consortium). He is Assistant Professor at the Sami University College.
  • Elen Anne Sara. Sara is from a reindeer herding background in the village of Lisma in northern Finland.She is a member of Suoma boazosamit, the Sami Reindeer Herders Association of Finland, on the council of the Association of World Reindeer Herders, and is one of 'Reindeer Ambassadors'
Vice board members have been named as Marit Breie Henriksen (Sami University College), Dr. Monica A Sundset (University of Tromso), Juha Magga (Suoma boazosamit), and Mikhail Pogodaev (WRH).

Johan Mathis Turi continues as Chair of the Board.

Read the official announcement here


About ICR, Board, Etylin, Johan Mathis Turi, Jonsson, Keskitalo, Laptander, Pogodaev, Sara, WRH
arctic universi ipy_logo_index norden research_council eni